263 Attorneys Have Ohio Law License Suspended for Failing to Register with Supreme Court
The Ohio Supreme Court today suspended the Ohio law licenses of 263 attorneys who failed to register with the Office of Attorney Services for the biennium that began September 1, 2013, and ends August 31, 2015. This number represents .006 of one percent of the total number of active and corporate attorneys in the state who are required to register.
Last year, 294 attorneys failed to register and were suspended. View the official Administrative Action list of suspended attorneys this year.
A suspended attorney is barred from practicing law until satisfying the registration requirements and paying all registration fees and a $300 reinstatement fee. Any attorney who continues to practice law while under suspension may be referred for investigation for the unauthorized practice of law. The suspended attorneys were notified in July and again in October of the registration deadline.
Attorneys engaged in the practice of law in Ohio are required by Rule VI of the Rules for the Government of the Bar of Ohio to register with the Supreme Court biennially and pay a $350 registration fee. In July, the Office of Attorney Services sent all attorneys who were currently registered with the state for active or corporate status a certificate of registration for the upcoming biennium and directed them to register for the next biennium by September 1.
The attorneys suspended today were sent letters in October alerting them of their noncompliance, but they did not file evidence of compliance with Rule VI or come into compliance with this rule (by paying the original $350 fee plus a $50 late fee) on or before October 31 within the late registration period.
Learn more about attorney registration.
PDF files may be viewed, printed, and searched using the free Acrobat® Reader
Acrobat Reader is a trademark of Adobe Systems Incorporated.