Late Compliance Deadline for A-L Attorneys on March 30
Ohio attorneys who are out of compliance with their continuing legal education (CLE) requirements must complete their hours by March 30. They also must file their Late Compliance Reporting Form and submit the corresponding late compliance fee by April 29 or risk being sanctioned.
Lawyers whose last names begin with the letters A through L are required to earn their CLE hours by the end of every odd-numbered year, which encompasses the compliance period that covers 2014/2015. Attorneys in Ohio are divided into two groups for reporting purposes according to the first letter of their last name. M through Z attorneys will be subject to the requirements in the biennium covering 2015/2016.
Attorneys are required to complete 24 hours of accredited CLE every two years. Judges must complete 40 CLE hours every two years, including at least 10 hours of Judicial College instruction.
To submit a request for late compliance, a Continuing Legal Education Late Compliance Reporting Form (Form 19) must be completed by April 29, 2016, providing evidence of the CLE activities that have been completed by March 30, to remove the deficiencies for the 2014/2015 compliance period. The form should include the date, title, activity code, and number of hours completed.
Requests for late compliance must be submitted with the late compliance fee, postmarked on or before April 29. Failure to submit the request for late compliance will result in the Commission on Continuing Legal Education issuing a monetary sanction and/or suspension from the practice of law.
Lawyers should call the Office of Attorney Services immediately at 614.387.9320 if they have any questions regarding their CLE compliance.
PDF files may be viewed, printed, and searched using the free Acrobat® Reader
Acrobat Reader is a trademark of Adobe Systems Incorporated.