Court News Ohio
Court News Ohio
Court News Ohio

Community Corrections Work of Judges, Court Personnel Recognized

Statewide recognition for judges and court personnel that operate top-flight community corrections programs occurred last week at ceremonies in Columbus.

The Oho Justice Alliance for Community Corrections (OJACC) recognized several people at its achievement awards luncheon during the group’s 27th annual conference on Oct. 10. They included:

  • Perry County Probate/Juvenile Court Judge Luann Cooperrider, who received the Rep. C.J. McLin Award, which recognizes an elected official who has worked toward the improvement of community corrections in Ohio.
  • Melissa Litteral, director of the Greene County Adult Probation Department, who received the Dr. Simon Dinitz Award, which recognizes a community correctional practitioner for his or her contributions.
  • Corey Schaal, research analyst in the Ohio Supreme Court’s Judicial Services Division, who received the James Wichtman Award, which recognizes an OJACC board member dedicated to OJACC’s mission.

Also on Oct. 10, the Ohio Department of Rehabilitation and Correction conducted its 21st annual Clifford Skeen Awards ceremony. Two adult probation departments were honored for their commitment to community corrections as a viable alternative to incarceration. They included:

  • The Hancock County Prison Diversion Program, which was created in 1990 as a pilot program for intensive supervision services. Common pleas judges Joseph H. Niemeyer and Reginald J. Routson were on hand to accept the award.
  • The Clermont County Municipal Court Jail Diversion Programs, whose offenders performed 38,000 hours of litter control and other projects for their community service requirements in Fiscal Year 2013. Judge Kevin Miles accepted the award on behalf of the department.
  • The Lucas County Correctional Treatment Facility, operated by the common pleas court, which provides treatment for non-violent felony offenders sentenced for up to six months. Director Bud Hite accepted the award on behalf of the facility.