Court News Ohio
Court News Ohio
Court News Ohio

Ohio Judicial Conference Elects Officers

After his recent election, Mahoning County Common Pleas Court Judge John M. Durkin will begin a two-year term as chair of the Ohio Judicial Conference on October 1.

He was among six judges elected as officers of the conference. The others include:

  • Clermont County Probate/Juvenile Court Judge James A. Shriver as chair elect.
  • Twelfth District Court of Appeals Judge Stephen W. Powell as first vice chair.
  • Fairfield Municipal Court Judge Joyce A. Campbell as second vice chair.
  • Stark County Family Court Judge Jim D. James as immediate past chair.
  • Ohio Supreme Court Chief Justice Maureen O’Connor as honorary chair.

Judge Durkin has served as an officer of the conference and is the chair of its Specialized Dockets committee. Since 1997, he has been on the Mahoning court bench. He established the court’s felony drug docket, which has been recognized as a “mentor court” by the U.S. Department of Justice.

Judge Shriver serves as co-chair of the conference’s Court Administration committee.

Judge Powell serves as co-chair of the conference’s Judicial Education committee.

Judge Campbell, the newest conference officer, serves as co-chair of the Criminal Law & Procedure committee.

As the outgoing conference chair, Judge James will continue to serve on the conference’s executive committee.

As the organization of all Ohio judges, the conference coordinates the work of all courts in Ohio and promotes the administration of justice throughout the state. It was founded in 1963.