Court News Ohio
Court News Ohio
Court News Ohio

Leader in Democratic Race for Guernsey County Judgeship Widens Gap

The Democratic candidate for Guernsey County Probate/Juvenile Court judge leading by one vote after the May 6 primary election increased his margin after the Guernsey County Board of Elections certified the official results on May 20.

Andrew J. Warhola Jr. now leads Kent D. Biegler 930 votes to 921. Warhola and Biegler are vying to appear on the November general election ballot. David B. Bennett was the only Republican candidate on the ballot.

Bennett, Biegler, and Warhola are seeking to replace retiring Judge Robert S. Moorehead Jr., who is prevented from running again due to the constitutional age restriction.

Given the margin of victory out of the total number of votes cast (1,851), the Warhola/Biegler race will be subject to an automatic recount. That recount will take place on May 29, according to Sandra K. Miller, board of elections director.

Judicial elections for the Ohio Supreme Court, district courts of appeals, county common pleas courts, and county courts occur in even-numbered years. In the cycle for judgeships up for election every even-numbered year, 2014 is the one with the most on the ballot that occurs every six years. All judges in Ohio are elected to six-year terms.

Supreme Court staff members assemble the election results from the local county boards of elections for administrative purposes and to communicate with new judges about payroll, benefits, and other information.

Access the official Guernsey County results from the primary.