Late Attorney Registration Period Ends October 31
The Ohio Supreme Court Office of Attorney Services today reminded all non-registered attorneys that they will be suspended if they don’t register, pay a $350 registration fee, and pay a $50 late fee by Thursday, October 31.
Every odd-numbered year, all Ohio attorneys on active or corporate status must register with Attorney Services by September 1, according to Susan Christoff, director of the office. “Those who failed to register by September 1 still have time to avoid a suspension by meeting their obligations within the late registration period,” she said.
The late registration period ends October 31. In 2011, 294 attorneys failed to register within the late registration period and had their law licenses suspended out of the more than 42,000 active and corporate status attorneys registered with Attorney Services.
Attorneys can register either by mail or electronically. To register online, attorneys should click the “Biennial Attorney Registration” tab on the front page of the Supreme Court’s website to start the process.
Attorneys are encouraged to register and pay their fees online by credit card, although they can register by mail and pay by check or money order, Christoff said. Attorneys who successfully complete the process will receive confirmation by mail. Those who do not should contact Attorney Services.
Mailed registrations will be deemed timely within the late registration period if received before 5 p.m. October 31 (postmark dates will NOT be accepted). Online registrations must be completed by 11:59 p.m., Eastern Standard Time, on October 31 to be deemed timely.