Court News Ohio
Court News Ohio
Court News Ohio

Contested Judicial Races Featured in Two Communities in Upcoming Primary

Voters in the May 7 primary election in two Ohio communities will be the only ones casting ballots in contested races for municipal court judgeships.

Court News Ohio will post results from the judicial races as soon as they become available.

Three Republican candidates each in Norwalk and Perrysburg will be on the ballot, seeking to replace retiring judges. Norwalk voters will see Scott Christophel, Harold Freeman, and Erie Weisenburger on the ballot, while Perrysburg voters will see C. Drew Griffith, Molly Mack, and Aram Ohanian on the ballot.

Other communities will not hold primaries because of a lack of competitive races, because they operate as charter cities and hold their primaries at later dates in the year (as is the case in Toledo), or because candidates proceed directly to the general election.

All judges in Ohio are elected to six-year terms. Elections for municipal court judgeships occur in odd-numbered years, while elections for Ohio Supreme Court, appeals court, common pleas court, and county court judges occur in even-numbered years.

Supreme Court staff members assemble the election results from the local county boards of elections for administrative purposes, to communicate with new judges about payroll, benefits and other information.

For more information about judicial candidates, consult one of Ohio’s 88 county boards of elections.